Julius Raab

 

Austrian State Treaty Chancellor and “Master builder of the Austrian economic miracle”

Julius Raab was born on 29 November 1891 in St. Pölten, Lower Austria. He, son of a master builder, studied Structural Engineering at the Vienna College of Technology. After World War I he joined his father’s construction business and became politically active. In 1927, he was elected Member of the Austrian National Council as member of the Austrian Christian Social Party. In 1938, he was appointed Minister of Commerce by Chancellor Schuschnigg for few weeks.

The National Socialists imposed a professional ban on him right after the “Anschluss” in 1938. After the end of World War II in 1945, he immediately became politically involved again. He was a co-founder of the Austrian People’s Party (ÖVP) and the Enterprise Union (Wirtschaftsbund). As President of the Federal Chamber of Commerce and Industry (today’s WKO), he and Johann Böhm, then-President of the Austria Trade Union Federation (ÖGB), were crucial for the establishment of the Social Partnership (Sozialpartnerschaft) since 1947. In 1953 he succeeded Leopold Figl as Chancellor. His economic policies set the course for the rebuilding of Austria. He was responsible for the new economic concept (“Raab-Kamitz-Kurs”) which stabilised the Austrian currency, made full employment possible and enabled the devolopment of the welfare state that contributed greatly to the “economic miracle”. Raab promoted the European Integration (EFTA accession) and gave new impetus to the then stagnating Austrian State Treaty negotiations when he put the idea of Austrian military neutrality forth. His prestige as Chancellor of the economy and freedom as well as master builder of the “economic miracle” was at its peak during the signing of the Austrian State Treaty in 1955. Julius Raab passed after a long illness on 8 January 1964.

It must be noted that Julius Raab was, in 1930, leader of the Lower Austrian Heimwehr, an anti-semitic and anti-democratic paramilitary organisation. The Julius Raab Foundation repudiates these beliefs in the strongest terms as they contradict its beliefs and values.

Wir verfolgen ein klares Ziel:
Wir wollen Österreich nach vorne bringen

Mit neuen Ideen, einer ehrlichen und
mutigen Politik und auf Basis zeitloser Werte.


skip intro

Julius Raab

 

Staatsvertragskanzler und „Baumeister des österreichischen Wirtschaftswunders“

Julius Raab wird am 29. November 1891 in St. Pölten geboren. Der Sohn eines Baumeisters studierte Hochbau an der Technischen Hochschule in Wien. Nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg tritt er in die väterliche Baufirma ein und engagierte sich politisch, 1927 zog er für die Christlichsozialen in den Nationalrat ein. 1938 ernannte ihn Bundeskanzler Schuschnigg für wenige Wochen zum Handelsminister.

Von den Nationalsozialisten wurde er nach dem „Anschluss“ 1938 mit Berufsverbot belegt. Unmittelbar nach Kriegsende 1945 engagierte sich Raab neuerlich politisch, war Mitbegründer der Österreichischen Volkspartei und des Wirtschaftsbundes. Als Präsident der Bundeskammer der Gewerblichen Wirtschaft trug er ab 1947 gemeinsam mit dem ÖGB-Präsidenten Johann Böhm wesentlich zur Etablierung der Sozialpartnerschaft bei. 1953 schließlich löste er Leopold Figl als Bundeskanzler ab und stellte wirtschaftspolitisch entscheidende Weichen für den Wiederaufbau Österreichs. So zeichnet er sich für das neue Wirtschaftskonzept („Raab-Kamitz-Kurs“) verantwortlich, das zur Stabilisierung der österreichischen Währung, zur Vollbeschäftigung und mit der Entwicklung des Wohlfahrtstaates wesentlich zum „Wirtschaftswunder“ beiträgt. Raab fördert die europäische Integration (EFTA-Beitritt) und gab den ins Stocken geratenen Staatsvertragsverhandlungen neuen Schwung, indem er den Gedanken einer militärischen Neutralität ins Spiel brachte. Sein Ansehen als Wirtschafts- und Freiheitskanzler, aber auch als Baumeister des „Wirtschaftswunders“ erreicht mit dem Abschluss des Staatsvertrages 1955 seinen Höhepunkt. Nach langer schwerer Krankheit stirbt Julius Raab am 8. Jänner 1964.

Nicht verschwiegen werden soll, dass Julius Raab 1930 Führer der niederösterreichischen Heimwehr, einer antisemitischen und antidemokratischen paramilitärischen Organisation, war. Von diesem Gedankengut distanziert sich die Julius Raab Stiftung in aller Form, es widerspricht dem Menschenbild und den Werten der Stiftung.

Wir verfolgen ein klares Ziel:
Wir wollen Österreich nach vorne bringen

Mit neuen Ideen, einer ehrlichen und
mutigen Politik und auf Basis zeitloser Werte.


skip intro